Holistic Healing  is a form of healing that considers the whole person – body, mind, spirit and emotions, in a quest for optimal  health and wellness. 

To understand Healing we must understand Energy. We are coming into an age when the medical profession is realizing that energy is the real healer. Before we understand  energy let’s discuss the age / yuga we are in the present. 

The Cycle of the Yugas 

An understanding of the cycle of the yugas gives us unparalleled insight into the past, present, and future development of mankind. Sri Yukteswar, a modern exponent of the yugas,  explains that mankind goes through clearly discernible ages, or yugas. Each yuga changes the consciousness of mankind. As mankind’s consciousness changes, so do civilization and human development.

An understanding of the cycle of the yugas reveals that, like two sides of the same coin, the development of mankind is inextricably bound together with the development of every man’s consciousness. The yugas are a unique contribution to the world’s knowledge because they unite the study of the inner and outer man. 

The yugas describe a cycle of human development that not only predicts highly advanced ages in the future, but indicates that they have occurred in the past as well. The yuga cycle includes ages less advanced than our own, ages full of ignorance and darkness, and ages so much more advanced than our own present age that we cannot fully comprehend them. And, as is implicit in the meaning of the word “cycle,” we learn that once mankind’s peak is reached, there is inevitable decline; and once mankind’s darkest point is reached, there is inevitable advancement.

The yugas are a tradition in India that goes back thousands of years. Sri Yukteswar does not base his understanding of the yugas on tradition alone, however. Sri Yukteswar’s insights spring from self-realization. His understanding of the yugas is born of deep intuition. 

Sri Yukteswar outlines the yugas in the introduction to his book, The Holy Science, written in 1894.

The Indian scriptures classify the yugas into four periods:

Kali yuga or dark age, the age were matter is the ultimate reality

Dwapara yuga or age of energy, were energy is the ultimate  reality 

Treta yuga or age of Thought were mind is the ultimate reality 

Satya yuga or age of consciousness were spirit is the ultimate reality.

Attribution: The Holy Science, Sri Yukteswar

Contribution: Dr. Aarti Verma

Dr. Aarti Verma is a trained Yoga and Meditation teacher, a Vastu consultant, a Tarot reader, Past life regression and Clinical Hypnotherapy consultant at Aushadhhi, Paramhans Prakashwati Mehta Institute of Holistic Healing and Research, a pioneer institute in Alternative Healing Therapies.


A-9, Lajpat Nagar-III, New Delhi-110024

Contact: 011-29832828, 29832827, 08826393679

Email: Aushadhhi1@gmail.com

Web: www.aushadhhi.com

WhatsApp Help Chat
Send via WhatsApp
Welcome to Aushadhhi